Historic Resources Commission

Responsibilities & Duties

HRC is charged to conserve and protect historic sites, structures, and other landmarks that have special value or interest to the City, in accordance with Albany's General City Code Chapter 42 Part 4 Article XII (Sections 42-82 to 42-97), and pursuant to the City's Unified Sustainable Development Ordinance.

Albany's Historic Resources Commission (HRC) is appointed to:

  • Administer and regulate the appearance of the adopted historic districts
  • Protect their significant character
  • Review all proposed alterations or additions to any structure or landmark that fall within a local Historic District
  • Safeguard the archeological or cultural integrity in the best interest of the community

Review by the HRC is also required for demolition of any designated structure, and for new construction, in a local Historic District.

Historic Resources Commission Documents

Historic Resources Commission Meetings

  • 6 pm
  • Monthly
  • Albany Community Development Agency
    200 Henry Johnson Boulevard
    Community Room
    Albany, NY 12210
  • Live-streamed via YouTube

2023 Meeting Dates 

January 26April 20
July 13
October 5
February 16May 11
August 3
October 26
March 9June 1
August 24
November 16
March 30June 22
September 14
December 7

How to Submit Audio and Written Comments on Historic Resources Applications

Audio comments (up to three minutes in length) and written comments must be submitted to HRC@albanyny.gov no less than 48 hours in advance of the hearing or meeting to ensure review by the Historic Resources Commission. Submitted comments will not be played or read during the hearing or meeting.

How to Provide Public Comment on an application at a Historic Resources Commission Hearing or Meeting 

Requests to provide public comment at a public hearing or meeting must be submitted to HRC@albanyny.gov no less than 24 hours in advance of a meeting and shall include:

  • Your name
  • The project/s that you wish to speak on,  and
  • The municipality where you live, as required by §34-1B of the Albany City Code.

Members of the public will have three minutes to speak per project and Common Council members have six minutes to speak per project. Speaking times may be modified based on the number of individuals signed up to speak, so it is recommended to submit written or audio comments prior to the hearing or meeting. Projects on a public workshop agenda do not have a public comment period.

Please be respectful of others and in the delivery of your public comment. The Historic Resources Commission reserves the right to silence or remove participants who are not respectful during the meeting or hearing.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


The Historic Resources Commission (HRC) consists of nine members appointed by the Mayor, with the advice and consent of the Common Council. The presence of five members of the Commission constitutes a quorum, and the concurring vote of five members is required to carry out an action.

John Myers

John Myers, Chair

Jen Geraghty

Jennifer Geraghty

chris H.

Chris Hacker

Marilyn Kaplan

Marilyn Kaplan

JME Photo

Jack McEneny


Lee Pinckney

Erin Tobin

Erin Tobin

Historic Preservation Planning

HRC supports the Historic Preservation Plan as an effective tool to expand on existing and future preservation programming and preservation initiatives. Read the Historic Preservation Plan (September 30, 2019).

Historic Districts

Albany's Historic Districts were established in accordance with the City's Historic Resources Ordinance. These districts serve to preserve and protect:

  • Buildings
  • Places
  • Sites
  • Special historic or aesthetic interest
  • Structures
  • Works of art and other objects having a special character
  • Any other particular value to the City

Though some of Albany's Historic Districts have been Nationally designated (National Register of Historic Places), the City only maintains oversight for the locally designated districts, which have been adopted by the Common Council. The City has sixteen locally designated historic districts and four districts that are National recognized.