HOW TO LICENSE YOUR DOG

Apply for a dog license at the Albany City Clerk's Office, Room 202 - City Hall, Albany, NY 12207 (Albany
Residents Only). Satisfactory proof of ownership/transfer of ownership may be required..

For guide dogs, war dogs, hearing dogs, police work dogs, service dogs, working search dogs or detection dogs;
satisfactory proof is required, such as a training certificate, etc. for licenses.

IN ADDITION TO THE APPLICATION THE OWNER WILL NEED:

If the dog is spayed or neutered - a certificate from a licensed veterinarian showing that the dog has been spayed
or neutered, unless this proof is already on file with the clerk.

Proof of ownership - usually in the form of a veterinary bill / medical statement.

All dogs four months or older must have proof of a rabies vaccination signed by a licensed veterinarian or a
certificate stating why the life of the dog would be endangered by the vaccine.

After the application and required certificate(s) are filed and the license fee has been paid, the license will be validated
for one year. Each dog is assigned a permanent official identification (ID) number and issued a metal ID tag which is
to be attached to the dog's collar. NO REFUNDS will be made after a license has been validated. There shall be a
$10.00 fee for a replacement tag within one year of license issuance.

LICENSE FEES (Albany City Code § 115-21)

Spayed or neutered dogs: $16.00* (Seniors 65+ the Fee is $6.00%)

Unspayed or unneutered dogs: $23.00** (Seniors 65+ the Fee is $13.00**)

Guide, War, Hearing, Police Work, Service, Working Search or Detection dogs: NO FEE

* $1.00 of Fee for spayed/neutered (NYS regulation) goes to an Animal Population and Control Fund
** $3.00 of Fee for unsprayed/unneutered (NYS regulation) goes to an Animal Population and Control Fund

WHAT DOGS MUST BE LICENSED

Every dog owned or harbored in New York State for longer than 30 days must be licensed. The following are the only
license exemptions:

o Dogs less than four months of age and not running at large (off the owner’s premises)

o If anon-resident brings a dog into New York State for less than 30 days and the dog is licensed according to the
resident state's licensing laws.

e Dogs confined to the premises of any public or private hospital, devoted solely to the treatment of sick animals;
or confined for the purpose of research to the premises of any college or other educational or research institution

o Dogs confined to the premises of any person, firm or corporation engaged in the business of breeding or raising
dogs for profit, and licensed as a Class A dealer under the Federal Laboratory Animal Welfare Act



