BZA Members

The Board of Zoning Appeals (BZA) consists of seven members appointed by the Mayor for a three year term. The presence of four members constitutes a quorum of the Board, and the concurring vote of four members is required to carry out any action.

Board Members

  • Richard Berkley, Chair
  • Denard Cummings
  • Martin Daley
  • Brittany Peoples
  • Serena Joyce White-Lake
  • Adriana Le Blan
  • (One Vacancy)

The BZA is empowered to hear and decide appeals, and interpret provisions for applicants exhibiting a challenge to City officials issuing orders, decisions or requirements under the City's Unified Sustainable Development Ordinance.  The BZA independently provides a forum for applicants and/or representatives to appeal their case for a variance, pursuant to §81 of NYS General City Law.

Board of Zoning Appeals Contact

Luis Roldan
Department of Planning & Development
200 Henry Johnson Blvd 
First Floor  |  Suite #3
Albany, NY 12210
Phone: (518) 465-6066
Fax: (518) 434-5294
General Email: