News Flash Home
The original item was published from 1/6/2021 9:18:00 AM to 1/22/2021 2:53:46 PM.

News Flash

Home Spotlights

Posted on: August 13, 2020

[ARCHIVED] Mayor Sheehan & Police Chief Hawkins Announce Policing Reform & Reinvention Collaborative

Mayor APD and kids (JPG)

Date: August 13, 2020
Contact: Brian Shea

More information on City of Albany Police Collaborative

ALBANY, NY – In accordance with New York State Executive Order 203, Albany Mayor Kathy Sheehan and Albany Police Chief Eric Hawkins are establishing the City of Albany, NY Policing Reform and Reinvention Collaborative to review, modify, and modernize policing strategies, policies, procedures and practices. The Collaborative will create recommendations tailored to the specific needs of the communities that have been disproportionately impacted by structural racism.

The Collaborative will meet weekly on Tuesdays starting Tuesday, August 18th from 6:00pm to 7:30pm. Meetings can be viewed live online.

Initial meetings will explore a range of topics, including: implicit bias, the history of policing, 21st Century Policing Strategies, current policies, programs and practices of the Albany Police Department, including call and demographic data. The meetings will be live streamed and recorded so that the public can participate virtually. At the conclusion of the initial meetings, the collaborative will set goals and create working groups that will focus on specific policy areas. Each working group will hold at least one public meeting to collect input from Albany residents.

Each working group will produce recommendations that will be compiled into a draft final report that will be released to the public for comment. Those comments will be reviewed by the Collaborative and a final report will be presented to the Albany Common Council as required by NYS Executive Order 203. This work must be concluded by April 1, 2021.

The City of Albany Policing Reform and Reinvention Collaborative Members include:

  • Hon. Kathy Sheehan, Mayor, City of Albany, Co-Chair
  • Eric Hawkins, Chief, Albany Police Department, Co-Chair
  • Hon. Judge Stephen Herrick (Ret.), Albany County Public Defender
  • Hon. P. David Soares, Albany County District Attorney
  • Hon. Corey Ellis, President, Albany Common Council
  • Hon. Kelly Kimbrough, Chair, Albany Common Council Public Safety Committee
  • Hon. Ginnie Farrell, Chair, Albany Common Council Finance, Taxation, and Assessment Committee
  • Hon. Jahmel Robinson, Chair, Albany Common Council Human Resources and Human Rights Committee
  • William T. Little, Esq., Albany County Bar Association
  • Lillian Moy, Esq., Executive Director, Legal Aid Society of Northeastern New York
  • Prof. Ava Ayers, Esq., Albany Law School
  • Nairobi Vives, Esq., Albany Community Police Review Board
  • Larry Becker, Esq., Albany Community Police Review Board
  • Rev. Michael Poindexter, African American Clergy
  • Dr. Robert Miller, SUNY University at Albany
  • Prof. Robert Worden, SUNY University at Albany
  • Kaweeda Adams, Superintendent, Albany City School District
  • Brendan McCann, Case Manager, Compass Rose
  • 518 SNUG
  • Albany County Department of Probation
  • Albany County Department of Social Services
  • Albany County Department of Mental Health
  • Jill Peckenpaugh, Executive Director, United States Committee for Refugees and Immigrants
  • Hon. Dr. Dorcey Applyrs, Chief City Auditor, City of Albany
  • Chiquita D’Arbeau, Director, Albany Housing Authority
  • Mark Bobb-Semple, Commissioner, Albany Housing Authority
  • Tandra LaGrone, Executive Director, In Our Own Voices, Inc.
  • Dr. Brenda Robinson, Chair, Human Rights Commission, City of Albany
  • Micky Jimenez, Executive Director, Capital District Latinos
  • Jeremiah Hair, Homeless and Travelers Aid Society
  • Greg McGee, Officer, Albany Police Department
  • Joe Ingemie, Albany Community Policing Advisory Committee
  • Dannielle Hille, Chief Executive Officer, A Block at a Time
  • Deryl McCray, Brick’s Barbershop
  • Jamila Adams, Johnnie’s on Broadway
  • Jahaira Roldan, Project TRY (Together we Represent the Youth)
  • Aden Suchak, Youth Political Alliance