Violence Prevention Task Force

240664112_216083177139123_8911949619263286261_nHelp the City of Albany Violence Prevention Task Force Stop the Violence by taking our survey and sharing your thoughts.

In accordance with the Equity Agenda (Chapter 183 of the Code of the City of Albany), the Albany Common Council’s Public Safety Committee establishes a Violence Prevention Task Force. The Violence Prevention Task Force is responsible for convening stakeholders every fall to develop action items in preparation for the upcoming summer in anticipation of an uptick in violence. This Task Force is composed of members of the Albany Common Council’s Public Safety Committee, community members from wards disproportionately impacted by violence, at least one youth representative, representatives from the Albany Police Department, the Mayor’s office, the Albany City School District, clergy, and members from violence prevention-related organizations. 


  • 5:30 pm 
  • All meetings are open to the public; all are welcome.

Virtual Meetings

Due to the COVID-19 outbreak and the moratorium on public gatherings, meetings are live-streamed via the Violence Prevention Task Force's Facebook until further notice.

2021 Meeting Schedule

  1. Violence Prevention Task Force

The task force will meet the First (1st) and Third (3rd) Thursday of the month at 5:30 p.m. for the remainder of 2021. If there is an adjustment in the meeting date and time it will be posted to the Facebook page or the City of Albany’s website.

Violence Prevention Task Force

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


President Pro Tem Kelly KimbroughPublic Safety Committee  12/31/22
Councilmember Sonia FrederickPublic Safety Committee12/31/22
Lt. Joseph McDadeAlbany Police Department    12/31/22
Brian SheaMayor’s Office  12/31/22
Vincent ThompsonAlbany City School District    12/31/22
Orville M. AbrahamsViolence Prevention-Related Organization12/31/22
Joseph ManciniViolence Prevention-Related Organization12/31/22
Robin Chappelle Golston 
Jonathan B. Green  
Donnell Joseph 
John E. Pratt    
Barry D. Walston     
Joyce Clark Williams   

Contact Us:   

Email the Violence Prevention Task Force